Skip to main content

Guest, Login

Library and Learning Services

Databases A - Z.

Access to these high quality resources, listed alphabetically.

19th Century British Newspapers

National and regional newspapers selected from the British Library's collections, including the Leicester Chronicle from 1840-1900.

Off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for 19th Century British Newspapers.

19th Century UK Periodicals Online

19th Century UK Periodicals is a major new multi-part series which covers the events, lives, values and themes that shaped the 19th century world. Series I on New Readerships provides access to close to 100 periodicals for the study of British life in the 19th century - from women to sports and leisure, and from children to humour. It is mainly based on the repositories of the British Library and the National Library of Scotland.

Off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for 19th Century UK Periodicals Online.

ABI/INFORM Collection (from ProQuest)

Covers international business, management and economics. Provides over 2000 academic and trade journals in Full Text, +30,000 Full text Business Dissertations, SSRN Working papers, Wall Street Journal and other newspapers along with country reports and business cases.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for ABI/INFORM Collection (from ProQuest).

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Multi disciplinary coverage. Provides full text articles from academic and trade journals, many peer-reviewed journals. Replaces Academic Search Elite. Updated daily.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

Accounting and Tax Database (from ProQuest)

Brings together highly ranked global and scholarly journals with key resources for locating quick and precise results covering current news and topics, as well as the trends and history influencing important accounting and tax issues of the day.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Accounting and Tax Database (from ProQuest).

ACM Digital Library

Full text of every article and conference paper published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) including over 50 years of archives.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of Universities and enter your Single Sign On details, the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email.

Full details for ACM Digital Library.

AES E-Library

E-Library containing almost every Audio Engineering Society paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal from 1953 to the present.

Requires a password to use outside the University.

Full details for AES E-Library.

Ageinfo

Access to the basic search only for resource covering old age and ageing. Provides bibliographic references. Produced by the Centre for Policy on Ageing from specialist collections of books, articles and reports on Social Gerontology.

Free access to basic features of site.

Full details for Ageinfo.

American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog

The AFI Catalog, the premier, authoritative resource of American film information, covers the history of American cinema comprehensively from 1893 to 1975, with full or short records for films from 1976-2011. New records are added each year by the AFI's editorial team.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for American Film Institute (AFI) Catalog.

a-n The Artists Information Company

Provides online access to AN Magazine as well as information for and about visual artists and their professional practice. It includes job opportunities and information about professional organisations.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for a-n The Artists Information Company.

Architects Journal and AJ Buildings Library

The AJ supports architecture students by providing in-depth news analysis, insights into issues affecting the industry and building studies with technical details and drawings. The AJ Buildings Library is a digital database that showcases more than 1,900 exemplar projects, most from the last 20 years but including major projects back to 1900.

Users have to register at Architects Journal with their DMU email address to obtain access on and off campus. There is no automatic connection to the site on campus.
To access AJ Buildings Library, sign in again with your AJ registration details.

Full details for Architects Journal and AJ Buildings Library.

Architectural Publications Index (API)

Covers architecture and related subjects and is produced by RIBA. Index with abstracts of international journal articles, technical reports, books and exhibition catalogues. Also known as the British Architectural Library Catalogue.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Architectural Publications Index (API).

Archival Sound Recordings

The British Library Sound Archive, one of the world's largest sound archives, offers a ground-breaking online digital resource of sound recordings reflecting the broad spectrum of its holdings.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Archival Sound Recordings.

Art and Architecture Archive

A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Art and Architecture Archive.

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM)

Covers all forms of modern and contemporary art and design from 1974. Includes abstracts of journal articles, books, exhibition catalogues and reviews.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM).

Art Fulltext and Art Abstracts

Covers visual arts: design, architecture, cinema, photography and related subjects from 1984. Many of the articles are full text. Includes European and American articles, film/book reviews, reports of conferences and exhibitions.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Art Fulltext and Art Abstracts.

Arts and Humanities Database

Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Arts and Humanities Database.

Asian Business Database (from ProQuest)

Covers Asian business and financial information from key international publications.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Asian Business Database (from ProQuest).

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

Comprehensive listing of journal articles in architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, landscape architecture, and historic preservation. Coverage is from the 1930s (with selective coverage dating back to the 1740s) to the present.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals.

Banking Information Database (from ProQuest)

This database enables you to search essential banking industry publications for information about the financial services industry, banking and industry trends

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Banking Information Database (from ProQuest).

BCIS Online

BCIS cost information is collected at tender stage from a number of sources including Bills of Quantities, Contract Sum Analyses and Cost Analyses.

Access from the University Campus only.

Full details for BCIS Online.

BestBets (Emergency Medicine)

BETs (Best Evidence Topics) provides rapid evidence-based answers to clinical questions, developed by Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary. Entries include further references.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for BestBets (Emergency Medicine).

Biomed Central

Covers biomedical research from an independent publishing house providing immediate free access peer-reviewed journals.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Biomed Central.

BIOSIS Previews archive

Covers most areas of life sciences including biology and biotechnology from international science journals, conference proceedings and books. Bibliographic data, indexing information and abstracts for most references.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for BIOSIS Previews archive.

BOF: Business of Fashion

Daily resource for fashion creatives, executives and entrepreneurs, offering an informed, analytical and opinionated point of view on the fashion business. Includes fashion business intelligence on emerging designers, disruptive technologies and global brands.

Free BOF Professional for Students requires registration with DMU email address.

Full details for BOF: Business of Fashion.

British Nursing Database (formerly BNI with Full Text)

Comprehensive access to British Nursing Database (formerly known as British Nursing Index) covering all aspects of nursing, midwifery and community healthcare from 1994 to the present

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for British Nursing Database (formerly BNI with Full Text).

British Periodicals Collections I and II with Wellesley

This archive traces the development and growth of the periodical press in Britain from its origins in the seventeenth century through to the Victorian "age of periodicals" and beyond. This unique digital archive consists of over 460 periodical runs published from the 1680s to the 1930s, comprising six million keyword-searchable pages and forms an essential record of more than two centuries of British history and culture.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for British Periodicals Collections I and II with Wellesley.

British Pharmacopoeia (BP)

Up-to-date, authoritative resource on standards for medicinal substances and pharmaceutical products in the UK: descriptions of drugs, dose rates, indications and contra-indications.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for British Pharmacopoeia (BP).

British Standards Online (BSOnline)

Definitive site for all publications from British Standards Institution, with bibliographic information for more than 39,500 documents.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for British Standards Online (BSOnline).

Burney Collection

The newspapers and news pamphlets, gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes nearly 1 million pages from more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period, including the first successful London daily and first illustrated newspaper all dating from 1600-1800.

Off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Burney Collection.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Access to full text of nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, with coverage including virtually all subject areas related to business and economics. Also country economic reports from a range of authoritative sources.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Business Source Complete (EBSCO).

Cambridge Journals Digital Archive (CJDA)

This archive provides access to 171 journals published by Cambridge University Press from 1827 until 1996 - approximately 350,000 articles and over 3,318,700 pages. Subject areas covered in this rich collection of high-quality, fully searchable archives include: Law, Music and Drama, History, Asian Studies, Classics, Politics and Economics, Language and linguistics, Philosophy and religion, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Ecology and Conservation, and Mathematics and Computer Sciences.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Cambridge Journals Digital Archive (CJDA).

CareKnowledge

Full-text information service that monitors policy, practice and research developments in the area of social care. Featuring commentaries, briefings and knowledge maps on a range of subject areas including: Adult and child services, adoption and fostering, learning disabilities, mental health, and new legislation and law.

Access from the University Campus only.

Full details for CareKnowledge.

CASonline

CASonline is a searchable literature database on learning disabilities produced by BILD. It contains references to journal articles, books and pieces of research on all aspects of learning disability, grouped into 150 topic categories.

Requires a password to use outside the University.

Full details for CASonline.

Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collection

English and North American poetry, drama and fiction.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Chadwyck-Healey Literature Collection.

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

International database covers journal articles (also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Cochrane Library

Unique source of reliable, up-to-date information on the effects of interventions in health care, including evidence-based systematic reviews and clinical trials

No username or password required in the United Kingdom.

Full details for Cochrane Library.

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

19 electronic journals on Communication published by Sage.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection.

Construction Information Service

Extensive range of full-text documents covering all aspects of the building, engineering, design and construction process.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Construction Information Service.

COPAC

Access to the merged online catalogues of 24 major university research libraries in the UK and Ireland, plus the British Library and the National Libraries of Scotland and Wales.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for COPAC.

Country Life Archive

A comprehensive archive (1897 to 2005) of the weekly British culture and lifestyle magazine, Country Life, focusing on fine art and architecture, the great country houses, and rural living.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Country Life Archive.

Creative Club

The UK's largest advertising archive. Over 1.5 million items from TV, press, outdoor, Internet, cinema and radio.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Creative Club.

CUMinCAD

CumInCAD is a cumulative index of publications about computer aided architectural design. It includes bibliographic information about over 11,700 records from journals and conferences such as ACADIA, ASCAAD, CAADRIA, eCAADe, SiGraDi, CAAD futures, DDSS and others. All papers include full abstracts. Full texts, in PDF, of some 9,000 papers are also available. A separate index of some 1,800 papers in Spanish language are maintained. Published papers relating to building performance may be retrieved directly from the IBPSA-website.

Access from the University Campus only.

Full details for CUMinCAD.

Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)

Over 130,000 annotated references from more than 500 design and craft journals and newspapers published since 1973. Also data on over 50,000 designers, craftspeople, studios, workshops, firms etc.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI).

Digimap

We have access to the Aerial and Ordnance Survey Collections in Digimap. The Aerial Collection provides a bird's eye photographic view. The Ordnance Survey Collection allows users to view and print contemporary and current Ordnance Survey maps of any location in Great Britain at a series of predefined scales. You will need to register with this site once you have logged in for the first time and also accept the terms and conditions for each collection. In case of trouble downloading maps within the resource, you may need to add Digimap to your computer's list of trusted sites via your browser settings.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Digimap.

Drapers

Drapers is a source for authoritative business intelligence for the fashion industry in the UK and Irish Republic. It embraces all elements of this complex sector, from womenswear to menswear to kidswear, from textiles to clothing to footwear, from retailing to wholesaling to manufacturing, and from independents boutiques to national multiples to fast-growing etailers.

Users have to register at Drapers with their DMU email address to obtain access on and off campus. There is no automatic connection to the site on campus.

Full details for Drapers .

Early European Books

Early European Books traces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the seventeenth century, offering full-colour, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Early European Books.

EBooks on EBSCOhost

Contains over 100 full text e-books on subjects including business, computing, media and education.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for EBooks on EBSCOhost.

Education-line

A freely accessible database of the full text of conference papers, working papers and electronic literature which support educational research, policy and practice. Almost all its contents are included in the British Education Index.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Education-line.

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 500 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Education Research Complete.

Emerald Fulltext

Gives access to articles from over 100 important management journals. The full-text archives date from 1994 and abstracts from 1989.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Emerald Fulltext.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive

An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive.

Entrepreneurship Database (from ProQuest)

Content ranges from the scholarly - including journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings - to a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips from successful entrepreneur in a wide range of formats.

Requires a password to use outside the University.

Full details for Entrepreneurship Database (from ProQuest).

ERIC

Provides access to the bibliographic database of the United States Education Resources Information Center. Records cover journal articles and non-journal documents, with some full text, and the archive dates from 1966.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for ERIC.

EThOS - The Electronic Theses Online Service

A database of theses provided by the British Library allowing users to search, access and download British theses in a secure format.

Register with site for free access.

Full details for EThOS - The Electronic Theses Online Service .

Europe PubMed Central

A unique, free, information resource for biomedical and health researchers.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Europe PubMed Central.

FAME

Combines detailed financial profiles of UK companies with powerful search, selection and presentation software.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for FAME.

Family Law Online

Family Law Online offers a portfolio of family law publications from Jordans including: Child and Family Law Quarterly, Family Law Reports, Family Law, International Family Law, Duckworth: Matrimonial Property and Finance, Emergency Remedies in the Family Courts, Family Court Practice, Hershman and McFarlane Children, Law and Practice.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Family Law Online.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database

A bibliographic resource covering the foremost academic and popular film journals up to the present day. Many of these key titles are available here in full text.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database.

Film Index International

Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, this focuses on entertainment films and personalities from the first silent movies to the latest blockbusters and from over 170 countries.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Film Index International.

Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974 - 1996

Covering the period 1974–1996 in the Middle East and North Africa, South Asia, Sub-Saharan Africa, and Eastern Europe, the Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports online service includes a wealth of transcripts of broadcasts and news from around the world all translated into the English language.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports 1974 - 1996.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for GreenFILE.

Greenleaf eBooks

Greenleaf eBooks gather and disseminate research and best practice in the fields of governance, sustainability, corporate social responsibility and environmental management.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Greenleaf eBooks.

HeinOnline

Heinonline is a full text searchable archive of law journals. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. Coverage usually starts from the first issue of a journal and pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts, graphs and photographs. HeinOnline also includes the 'English Reports' (full reprints) including early cases published between 1220 and 1865.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for HeinOnline.

IEEE Xplore

This database gives full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, transactions and conference proceedings since 1988 and current IEEE standards.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for IEEE Xplore.

InCites Essential Science Indicators (ESI)

Find science performance statistics and science trends data based on journal article publication counts and citation data.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for InCites Essential Science Indicators (ESI).

InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR)

Find the impact factor for journals active in publishing science and social science research.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for InCites Journal Citation Reports (JCR).

Info4Education

Designed for students and academic professionals, this gives online access to British Standards, legislation and other guidance information related to construction, health and safety and pharmaceuticals.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Info4Education.

IngentaConnect

This database provides an index of published journals with some full text articles. Coverage includes science, technology, medicine, social sciences and management.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for IngentaConnect.

International Bibliography of Art (IBA)

The definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. Subjects covered include European art since late antiquity, American art since the colonial period, global art since 1945, fine art, decorative arts and antiques, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and material culture, folk art and Architectural history.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for International Bibliography of Art (IBA).

International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS)

This online database covers economics, sociology, criminology, politics and anthropology. Data is taken from books and journals in English and other European languages. Coverage goes back to 1951

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for International Bibliography of Social Sciences (IBSS).

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD)

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text : A full text database covering theatre and Drama including the following key journals :Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Plus additional full text available for more than 100 books and monographs.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD).

Jisc Historical Texts

Jisc Historical Texts enables you to cross-search over 300,000 historical books published in English or in England before 1800 and 65,000 19th century books from historically significant collections.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Jisc Historical Texts.

Jisc Journal Archives

Jisc Journal Archives enables you to cross-search many journals in the sciences, social sciences, humanities, medicine, law, and engineering.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Jisc Journal Archives.

John Johnson Collection

The John Johnson Collection provides access to thousands of items selected from the John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera, offering unique insights into the changing nature of everyday life in Britain in the eighteenth, nineteenth and early twentieth centuries.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for John Johnson Collection.

JORUM

JORUM is a free online repository for UK further and higher education, helping to build a community for academics to share learning and teaching materials. Teaching and support staff can find, preview, download, reuse and repurpose materials which have been uploaded to the site by colleges and universities.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for JORUM.

JSTOR Arts and Sciences iii

An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music. Please note current issues of journals are not included.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for JSTOR Arts and Sciences iii.

JustCite

JustCite is a good starting point if you are looking for UK and EU legal resources. It is a legal search engine and citator which allows you to search across legal resources from a wide range of publishers including LexisLibrary, Westlaw, HeinOnline.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for JustCite.

Just-Style

Just-Style This site contains up-to-date news from the world of textiles and fashion. DMU students can login to view the newsletter.

You will need to login to use view this resource from outside the University.

Full details for Just-Style.

Law in Sport

LawInSport is one of the largest sports law resources in the world and provides commentary and analysis on the latest issues and legal developments in the world of sport. It includes daily sport law news, peer-reviewed articles, industry insights, videos and podcasts as well as hosting conferences, seminars and networking events. It also provides information about sport law firms, books, and courses.

Register for standard membership with site using your DMU email account.

Full details for Law in Sport.

LexisLibrary

A guide to using this database is available.
An online legal research service bringing together in a single source, case law, legislation and commentary materials.It also provides access to a wide range of full-text local, national and international newspapers.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for LexisLibrary.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts.

Library Search

Use Library Search to find books, e-books, journals, full-text articles and more from the Library in one go.

Requires a password to use outside the University.

Full details for Library Search.

Literature Online (LION) (from ProQuest)

Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 350,000 works of literature with huge resources of criticism and reference. Literature Online contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction. Fully integrated with ABELL and also includes Poets On Screen.

Login via the UK Access Management Federation with your Single Sign On details.

Full details for Literature Online (LION) (from ProQuest).

Material ConneXion

Comprehensive information on materials in the Materials Connexion library, including images, detailed material descriptions, usage characteristics, and manufacturer and distributor contact information.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Material ConneXion.

Medline (EBSCO)

MEDLINE provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Medline (EBSCO).

Medline (PubMed)

Medical database which is searched via the US National Library of Medicine.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Medline (PubMed).

Mintel

The best market research resource. Comprises several series of reports: Market intelligence, Leisure intelligence, Retail intelligence, Financial intelligence, Library specials and Industrial reports. There is also a database specialising in marketing news.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Mintel.

Music Periodicals Database

This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Music Periodicals Database.

New Scientist archive

Ten years worth of the informative and approachable science journal, updated weekly.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for New Scientist archive.

Orbis Bank Focus

Orbis Bank Focus is a database of banks worldwide. The information is sourced by Bureau van Dijk from a combination of annual reports, information providers and regulatory sources.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Orbis Bank Focus.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography

50,000 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles. Includes 10,000 images.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Oxford Dictionary of National Biography .

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)

A guide to the meaning, pronunciation, usage and history of words from across the English-speaking world.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED).

Performing Arts Periodicals Database

IIPA provides indexing and abstracts from journals covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Coverage goes back to 1864.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Performing Arts Periodicals Database.

Periodicals Archive Online (Jisc Collection 2)

50 extra electronic journals included in this collection.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Periodicals Archive Online (Jisc Collection 2).

Phaidon Atlas of Architecture

The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture contains over 1,000 of the most outstanding works of architecture built since 2000.

Access from the University Campus only.

Full details for Phaidon Atlas of Architecture.

Physical Education Index

Content dates back to 1970 and ranges from physical education curricula, to sports medicine and dance. Equipment, law, fitness tests, business and marketing, sport sociology/psychology are also covered.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Physical Education Index.

Practical Law (formerly PLC)

A database for legal practitioners, Practical Law covers banking, employment, environmental, intellectual property, tax law and more. Contains notes, documents, checklists, toolkits and archive of articles from the PLC magazine. Also includes the Law School Resource Centre.

Select Sign In > Login with OpenAthens > Find your organisation = De Montfort University. Use your Single Sign On details to Login.

Full details for Practical Law (formerly PLC).

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

Your library offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools with Academic Complete.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003)

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003).

PsycARTICLES

PsycARTICLES is the definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles published by the American Psychological Association (APA). The database contains more than 134,000 articles from 66 journals from 1894–present published by the APA and its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychology Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for PsycARTICLES.

PsycINFO

A bibliographic database covering all aspects of psychology, including psychiatry, pharmacology, and applications in nursing, education, management and criminal justice. Indexes journal articles, book chapters, reports and dissertations from 1887 to date.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for PsycINFO.

Queen Victoria’s Journals

Queen Victoria was the longest serving British monarch, reigning as Queen from 1837 to 1901 and as Empress of India from 1877. In total 141 volumes of her journal survive, numbering 43,765 pages. They have never before been published in their entirety. As well as detailing household and family matters, the journals reflect affairs of state, describe meetings with statesmen and other eminent figures, and comment on the literature of the day. They represent a valuable primary source for scholars of nineteenth century British political and social history and for those working on gender and autobiographical writing.

Free access in the UK.

Full details for Queen Victoria’s Journals.

RefWorks

A guide to using this database is available.
RefWorks is software designed to allow you to input, organise, manage, retrieve and format lists of references (bibliographies). RefWorks also works with Microsoft Word via a Mac or PC to insert references and create a bibliography (Write-N-Cite).

RefWorks has recently upgraded. If you already use RefWorks you can choose to upgrade or stay with the current version. For new users we recommend you start using the new version of RefWorks. See the guide above for more information about the upgrade and a guide to using New RefWorks.

Legacy (Old) RefWorks On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

New RefWorks On and off campus: Requires your DMU email address and your RefWorks password (set up on account creation).

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for RefWorks.

Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (RSC Journals)

A collection of full text journals and references to information on chemistry and related subjects.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of Universities and enter your Single Sign On details, the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email.

Full details for Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (RSC Journals).

Science Direct

Access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier. Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Science Direct.

Scopus

A database that indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960's to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Scopus.

Screen Studies Collection

A comprehensive survey of current publications related to film scholarship alongside detailed and expansive filmographies. This collection includes the specialist index FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database and the detailed and complementary filmographies created by the American Film Institute and the British Film Institute; AFI Catalog and Film Index International.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Screen Studies Collection .

ShareGeo Open

Search for geospatial datasets.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for ShareGeo Open.

Social Care Online

The UK's most comprehensive collection of information and research on all aspects of social care - from fostering, to mental health, to human resources etc.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Social Care Online.

Specify-it-Building

Part of the Technical Indexes series, this is a comprehensive full text database including manufacturers technical catalogues, handbooks and guides as well as construction standards and legislative material

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Specify-it-Building.

Teachers TV from Education in Video

Teachers TV from Education in Video provides access to all 3,530 globally-acclaimed instructional videos produced in 2008 by the United Kingdom's Department of Education to train and develop teachers' skills through demonstrations and commentary by teachers, administrators, and other educational experts.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Teachers TV from Education in Video.

Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT)

The Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT) is an extensive online database of UK television and radio programmes including terrestrial, cable, and satellite television (with regional variations), all national and many local radio stations. Auto Alerts is a free service which searches the TRILT database on your behalf once a week and emails you the results. It uses searches that you have saved; all you have to do is enter your email address on the Auto Alert screen, choose the day of the week to receive emails, select the saved searches you want Auto Alert to run for you and press the 'Save Changes' button.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching (TRILT).

The Journal of the Audio Engineering Society

Access to almost every AES paper published at a convention, conference or in the Journal from 1953 to the present.

Requires a password to use outside the University.

Full details for The Journal of the Audio Engineering Society.

The Wire

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for The Wire.

Times Digital Archive

Access to the full text of the Times newspaper from 1785 to 2011, including all articles, advertisements and illustrations.

Off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Times Digital Archive.

TV & Radio on Demand (BoB)

Watch, record, create clips, search for upcoming programmes by title or keyword, compile favourite shows into playlists and share them with others.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for TV & Radio on Demand (BoB).

TVTimes Project 1955-1985

Listings of the TV.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for TVTimes Project 1955-1985.

UK Press Online

‘ukpressonline’ provides access to over two million pages of the 19th-21st Centuries’ newspapers, from 1835 to today, all presented as they were on the day they were published and all searchable by name, word, phrase and date. Newspapers include the Daily Mirror, the Daily Express, as well as the Daily Worker and several British fascist papers from the 1930s.
DMU has registered with ukpressonline for academic use, so staff and students can access the entirety of the archive at a reduced cost.

Register with site for access at an educational discount.

Full details for UK Press Online.

Vogue Archive

A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Trial access.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Vogue Archive.

WARC Advertising and Marketing Knowledge

World Advertising Research Centre's Advertising and Knowledge database is a collection of case studies and articles on advertising, marketing and media activity together with demographic information on a wide range of countries.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for WARC Advertising and Marketing Knowledge.

Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge)

This single, sophisticated platform extends and deepens the research coverage available through one resource by integrating journal, patent, proceedings and life sciences literature with Web resources and other scholarly data.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge).

Westlaw UK

An extensive source of information on American and UK law, including UK case law, UK legislation, Legal Journals Index and full text journals. On campus users report better results using browsers other than Internet Explorer.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Westlaw UK.

WGSN

Forecasting, trend analysis and insight into style, fashion and design; includes one of the largest fashion image libraries, and online workspace and design tools for personal creative development. Go to http://wgsn.com/edu/ to create a login account.
You have been given access to the content of WGSN for your own personal, non-commercial and information purpose only. You must not share or distribute such content across social media and any other external platforms.
It is important that you understand that your access and logins are limited to you as an authorised user of De Montfort University and any breach in the use of their content may result in prosecution, damage claims and loss of access to everyone else in the institution.

Register or re-activate on campus for a personal WGSN account.

Full details for WGSN.

Wiley Online Library

Useful for all scientific subjects, but also includes journals in the field of business, finance and management; education and psychology. To use the Alerting service, you will need to create a free username and password.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Wiley Online Library.

ZETOC

A database indexing articles from 20,000 research journals and 16,000 conference proceedings published per year and held in the British Library. The database covers 1993 to date, and is updated on a daily basis. It includes an email alerting service, to enable you to keep up-to-date with relevant new articles and papers. All subject fields are covered.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for ZETOC.

xml