Skip to main content

Guest, Login

Library and Learning Services

Resources for Walk In Users.

Resources licensed for use by people who are not students or staff at DMU, but are members of the library.

19th Century British Newspapers

National and regional newspapers selected from the British Library's collections, including the Leicester Chronicle from 1840-1900.

Off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for 19th Century British Newspapers.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)

Multi disciplinary coverage. Provides full text articles from academic and trade journals, many peer-reviewed journals. Replaces Academic Search Elite. Updated daily.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Academic Search Premier (EBSCO).

ACM Digital Library

Full text of every article and conference paper published by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) including over 50 years of archives.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of Universities and enter your Single Sign On details, the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email.

Full details for ACM Digital Library.

a-n The Artists Information Company

Provides online access to AN Magazine as well as information for and about visual artists and their professional practice. It includes job opportunities and information about professional organisations.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for a-n The Artists Information Company.

Art Fulltext and Art Abstracts

Covers visual arts: design, architecture, cinema, photography and related subjects from 1984. Many of the articles are full text. Includes European and American articles, film/book reviews, reports of conferences and exhibitions.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Art Fulltext and Art Abstracts.

Burney Collection

The newspapers and news pamphlets, gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. The collection includes nearly 1 million pages from more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period, including the first successful London daily and first illustrated newspaper all dating from 1600-1800.

Off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Burney Collection.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)

Access to full text of nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and other sources, with coverage including virtually all subject areas related to business and economics. Also country economic reports from a range of authoritative sources.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Business Source Complete (EBSCO).

Cambridge Journals Digital Archive (CJDA)

This archive provides access to 171 journals published by Cambridge University Press from 1827 until 1996 - approximately 350,000 articles and over 3,318,700 pages. Subject areas covered in this rich collection of high-quality, fully searchable archives include: Law, Music and Drama, History, Asian Studies, Classics, Politics and Economics, Language and linguistics, Philosophy and religion, Medicine, Physical Sciences, Ecology and Conservation, and Mathematics and Computer Sciences.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Cambridge Journals Digital Archive (CJDA).

CINAHL Plus with Full Text

International database covers journal articles (also some books and theses) relating to nursing and applied health.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for CINAHL Plus with Full Text.

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection

19 electronic journals on Communication published by Sage.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection.

Creative Club

The UK's largest advertising archive. Over 1.5 million items from TV, press, outdoor, Internet, cinema and radio.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Creative Club.

EBooks on EBSCOhost

Contains over 100 full text e-books on subjects including business, computing, media and education.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for EBooks on EBSCOhost.

Education Research Complete

Education Research Complete is a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. It also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,150 journals, as well as full text for nearly 1,200 journals. This database also includes full text for more than 500 books and monographs, and full text for numerous education-related conference papers.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Education Research Complete.

Emerald Fulltext

Gives access to articles from over 100 important management journals. The full-text archives date from 1994 and abstracts from 1989.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for Emerald Fulltext.

FAME

Combines detailed financial profiles of UK companies with powerful search, selection and presentation software.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for FAME.

GreenFILE

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for GreenFILE.

HeinOnline

Heinonline is a full text searchable archive of law journals. US titles dominate but an increasing number from the UK and other jurisdictions are included. Coverage usually starts from the first issue of a journal and pages appear as they would in the original hardcopy including all charts, graphs and photographs. HeinOnline also includes the 'English Reports' (full reprints) including early cases published between 1220 and 1865.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for HeinOnline.

IEEE Xplore

This database gives full-text access to IEEE and IEE journals, transactions and conference proceedings since 1988 and current IEEE standards.

Select 'De Montfort University Library Resources' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for IEEE Xplore.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD)

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text : A full text database covering theatre and Drama including the following key journals :Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, Modern Drama, PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art, Research in Dance Education, Research in Drama Education, Studies in Theatre and Performance, TDR: The Drama Review, Theater, and many more. Plus additional full text available for more than 100 books and monographs.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance (IBTD).

JSTOR Arts and Sciences iii

An archive of full text scholarly journals focussing on the subject areas of performing arts, architecture, art, education, women's studies, film studies, language and literature, linguistics, and music. Please note current issues of journals are not included.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for JSTOR Arts and Sciences iii.

Literature Online (LION) (from ProQuest)

Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 350,000 works of literature with huge resources of criticism and reference. Literature Online contains a full library of up-to-date, fully searchable criticism and reference resources in addition to the full text of poetry, drama, and prose fiction. Fully integrated with ABELL and also includes Poets On Screen.

Login via the UK Access Management Federation with your Single Sign On details.

Full details for Literature Online (LION) (from ProQuest).

Material ConneXion

Comprehensive information on materials in the Materials Connexion library, including images, detailed material descriptions, usage characteristics, and manufacturer and distributor contact information.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Material ConneXion.

Medline (PubMed)

Medical database which is searched via the US National Library of Medicine.

Unrestricted access.

Full details for Medline (PubMed).

ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary)

Your library offers e-books from trusted publishers in all academic subject areas along with powerful research tools with Academic Complete.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for ProQuest Ebook Central (formerly ebrary).

Science Direct

Access to the full text of journals published by Elsevier. Look for the green 'subscribed' icons which indicate full-text availability. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Science Direct.

Scopus

A database that indexes scholarly journals covering science, technology, textiles, health, medicine and social sciences from 1960's to date. You may need to 'activate' your account on first use of this resource.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Scopus.

WARC Advertising and Marketing Knowledge

World Advertising Research Centre's Advertising and Knowledge database is a collection of case studies and articles on advertising, marketing and media activity together with demographic information on a wide range of countries.

Select 'De Montfort University' from the list of UK Institutions.

Full details for WARC Advertising and Marketing Knowledge.

Wiley Online Library

Useful for all scientific subjects, but also includes journals in the field of business, finance and management; education and psychology. To use the Alerting service, you will need to create a free username and password.

On and off campus: Requires your Single Sign On username and password (the same as for Blackboard, MyDMU and email).

Full details for Wiley Online Library.

xml